14 Former Governors, Ministers To Forfeit Dubai Properties

14 Former Governors, Ministers To Forfeit Dubai Properties

Seven former governors and seven former ministers of the immediate past administration will have their Dubai properties forfeited to the Federal Government of Nigeria.


This was revealed shortly after President Muhammadu Buhari signed expatriation treaty with some foreign government, including the United Arab Emirates (UAE) yesterday.


A source at the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission told our correspondent that about 22 politicians and businessmen had been found to have acquired such properties in Dubai with looted public funds.


He said among them were seven former governors, seven former ministers, four businessmen and the former Minister of Petroleum, Diezani Allison-Madueke.


He revealed that the former governors, include one from the Southwest, two from Northcentral, one from Southsouth, two from the Northeast and one from the Northwest.


According to the source, one of the culprits is a former Comptroller General of Nigeria Customs Service.


He said that the properties would have seized before now but the absence of treaty between the two governments debarred it.


“Now that the pact had been signed, EFCC will go all out to ensure that the owners are prosecuted and their properties forfeited to the Federal Government.”

Following a state visit to the UAE by President Muhammadu Buhari on January 19, 2016 , the Federal Government signed six agreements with the Emirates.

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!