FIFA To Give Africa Nine (9) Slots in 48-Team World Cup

Reps Accuse Buhari, HoS For Extending PermSec’s Tenure

The world governing body for football, the Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) has officially recommended that Africa will be given 9 slots for the 48-nation World Cup, which begins with the 2026 edition of the tourney.

This was disclosed via a report published on the website of the world football governing body where it was stated that the council that includes Gianni Infantino, the president of FIFA, and also the presidents of all the member confederations in the world, (CAF, AFC, CONCACAF, CONMEBOL, OFC, UEFA), reached an agreement on Thursday for the allocations to the different continents.

According to the allocation, the European confederation UEFA, will get 16 direct slots while the Confederation of African Football (CAF) will get nine direct slots which is an additional 4 slots added to the previous 5.

The Asian Football Federation will get eight direct slots, while the Oceania Football Confederation gets one slot with CONCACAF and CONMEBOL which coordinate North and Central America and South America respectively to each get 6 slots.

This recommendation will be submitted to the FIFA council for its final ratification at its next meeting which will hold in Manama, Bahrain, on May 9 two days before the 67th congress of FIFA kicks off.

No Comments

Leave a Comment

10 − five =