Riyad Mahrez Wins African Footballer of The Year 2016

Leicester City and Algerian forward, Riyad Mahrez has just been crowned the Confederation of African Football’s (CAF), player of the year.

The 25 year old player has picked up the award to crown a superb year for him which has seen him pick the Premier League title, the PFA Player of the Year and BBC African Footballer of the Year.

Mahrez picked the award above former winner, Borussia Dortmund’s Gabonese forward Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang who came in second place and Senegal and Liverpool striker Sadio Mane who came in third place.

Here is a list of others who picked up awards on the night:

National Team of the Year – Uganda National Team

Women’s National Team of the Year – Super Falcons of Nigeria

African Club of the Year – Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

Most Promising Talent – Kelechi Iheanacho

Youth Player of the Year – Alex Iwobi

Coach of the Year – Pitso Mosimane (South Africa)

Women’s Player of the Year – Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)

Referee of the Year – Bakary Papa Gassama (Gambia)

Legend Award – Emilienne Mbango (Cameroon) and Laurent Pokou (Cote d’Ivoire)

African Based Player of the Year – Denis Onyango (Uganda)

Football Leader of the Year – Manuel Lopes Nascimento

Topmost Promoter of Football in Africa – President Muhammadu Buhari

The event also had performances from some of Africa’s best music stars in a colourful ceremony which held yesterday at the International Conference Centre, Abuja Nigeria.

Leave a Comment